EASA certifies the European AIS Database (EAD)

1 February 2017

Brussels, Belgium – EUROCONTROL has become the first pan-European Aeronautical Information Service Provider to be certified under the Single European Sky legislation regarding the provision of the European AIS Database (EAD).

The European AIS Database (EAD) is the world’s largest Aeronautical Information System (AIS) supporting the provision of the EAIM Services. It was developed by the EUROCONTROL Agency as a service to States and stakeholders. The aim of EAD is to ensure the availability of electronic aeronautical information of high quality, presented in a harmonised way and serving the requirements of all relevant users in terms of data quality and timeliness. The service allows other Aeronautical Information Service Providers (AISPs) to enter and maintain their data in a central repository and enables data users to retrieve and download AIS data in real time.

“We are pleased to have received the EASA certification for EAD which allows us to take this invaluable service to the next level,” said Joe Sultana, Director Network Manager. “We see EAD as an essential element of the work of the Network Manager as a whole and we look forward to seeing EAD as part of the revision of the Network Management Implementing Rule. This would allow the EAD to contribute even further to network efficiency and performance.”

EAD has been providing AIS services for more than 13 years. To date, 38 States have fully aligned themselves with the EAD processes and systems in their Aeronautical Information Management solutions. A further 9 States have plans to fully join the EAD service, and one more is in negotiation.  EAD users include European States, but also countries such as Canada, the Philippines and Brazil.

Future plans for EUROCONTROL include the certification of the Network Manager as the first pan-European Service Provider of Central Air traffic Flow Management in 2019.

Note to editors
EUROCONTROL, the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation, has as its primary objective to develop a seamless, pan-European air traffic management (ATM) system that fully copes with the growth in air traffic, while maintaining a high level of safety, reducing costs and respecting the environment. EUROCONTROL has 41 Member States: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. EUROCONTROL has Comprehensive Agreements with the Kingdom of Morocco and the State of Israel.

Press Office

Rue de la Fusée 96
1130 Brussels
+32 2 729 51 51